top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

'Katch You On The Flip Side': Graduate Collection by Kat Wright


Photo Credit: Godfrey Pitt


Kat Wright is a fashion design graduate at Birmingham City University. For Kat fashion is about being able to express yourself and show a glimmer in someone's personality.


Kat believes that fashion isn't only a statement you wear. "The industry is so creatively versatile from design to marketing to production to styling. Fashion is a constant showcase for talent. It gives people the confidence to be who they want to be."


The designer was born in the West Midlands. She grew up in a creative family where her mum made her own clothes and grandmothers would knit and crochet.


Kat was always passionate about art and illustrations. After studying textiles at school she has realised she wants to combine two of her interests into the fashion career.


"I remember the feeling I would get when I wore something new or I would get a compliment on an outfit. I would beam with this lush feeling, so I thought to myself that I want to create that feeling for other people."


While talking about her designs, Kat admitted that her style depends on the occasion. "I would say I am always very groovy. I love vintage fashion, especially 60s and 70s! I like anything between hippies, florals to extreme disco, glam rock, as you'll know from my graduate collection."

Kat is inspired by a positive change in movements. She wants her garments to be powerful and showcase important things which are happening around the world.


"The reason I am in fashion isn't because I so desperately want to work for big known labels, it's very much the opposite. I want to create a change in the industry and fight for change. Especially now, there are so many movements that are being recognised. I research and learn about them to create a concept for my designs."


"I am also inspired by people. The people of now and the people of past eras, again, history and vintage hugely impact my design process. In terms of visual inspiration, I am always inspired by nature. I adore it. Nature has so many aesthetic textures, colours, shapes. I just think nature holds the most beauty", adds Kat.


While talking about the things Kat would want to change in the industry, she has mentioned that she wants to see more upcycling, less waste, better working conditions and last but not least - equality.


"I will keep preaching equality until my last breath. It is so important that we as an industry do not go back to how things were pre-COVID. I hope this situation has opened the eyes of many people to prioritise sustainability and equality in all forms across the industry."


Kat's brand 'Katch Disco' was created as her graduate project. For every designer it is important to have a recognisable name, Kat wanted to avoid clichés. It took her time to find something disco, 70s' related and meaningful at the same time.


"One day I fell upon a documentary called 'Jewel's Catch One' on Netflix and it was about this incredible woman called Jewel Thais-Williams who was discriminated for being a black, gay woman. She opened one of the first gay, black clubs in LA called 'Catch One Nightclub' in the 1970s. I really could talk about her all day but I would seriously recommend you to watch the documentary, it's the base and soul of my collection!"


On-Trend watched the documentary to find out more about Jewel. Jewel was an activist. She broke down the racial, social and cultural barriers. Despite the police, financial difficulties, AIDS crisis and the fire which destroyed the club, Jewel never gave up and helped the community for over 40 years. She believed that everyone deserves to feel welcome. Sadly, we still live in a society where people don't treat each other equally and it's down to us to start making small changes.


As well as the brand name, Kat's latest collection 'Katch You On The Flip Side' has a meaningful story behind it. "It stands for the idea of a vinyl record having two sides – like beer mats which I've created my print out of and also like people. Some people have two sides to themselves that they feel they must hide from the world, from judgement. The whole doubled sided metaphor mixed with the classic 70s catchphrase fit perfectly."

The fabrics are the statement of Kat's collection. She was specific on the quality, textures and colours while sourcing them. "I wanted all of my looks to be almost individual, as my concept was all about being unique and being yourself. I wanted that to reflect through the textiles."


The designer created a print which was originally a graphic of beer mat that would be seen in the disco club but it turned out into something different that pulls the whole collection together.


"I have used sublimation printing to transfer my print onto velvet and satin. My appliques were all done by hand. It took me so long but it adds that bespoke, couture element to the collection I envisioned."


As well as the fabrics, colour palettes are important for the designer. "I have to say I am very biased with my colour palette, especially with my graduate collection, they are my favourite colours and I wouldn't have my palette any other way. Picking colours is not the simple process some may think, yes I love orange and turquoise but I tell you now, it took me a long process to get the exact shades to fit the collection."


Kat believes that there's a lot more into every collection than everyone may realise. While designing her new garments Kat is always looking at vintage trends, rather than at the mainstream market. "However, I know the importance of making it modern and original which is why I like to mix vintage with modern fashion."

As a result of COVID-19 Kat was only able to create three looks rather than six for her final collection. Luckily, the designer prepared fabrics and samples in advance which made it easier with the stock issues.


"I can be a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to construction and sewing isn't my strongest point but I have improved and I am proud of what I've created in the end."


The designer was also supposed to showcase her work at the Graduate Fashion Week in London a few weeks ago. It was something Kat was working towards her whole time at university. Although it is devastating for the designer, Kat is grateful that she had an opportunity to showcase her work at the BCU Internal Preview Fashion Show, which was held for the Graduate Fashion Show selection.


During her degree, Kat had work experience with bridal design brand Made with Love. Kat wasn't involved much with the design but it gave her an understanding of how business and marketing operate. "We've got a very close relationship to the point where they named a dress after me, with 70s style bell sleeves to fit my style. Which I suppose in a way was collaboration?!"


Kat has lots of photoshoots planned where she will be working with stylists and fashion photographers. She wants to collaborate with more people within the industry as she believes "it's something that the mass Instagram networking recently has helped with."


However, as well as the advantages social media brings, Kat wants to see higher acceptance for graduates when it comes to work experiences.


"I am beyond amazed at the talent of fashion graduates that most of the time don't get the recognition they deserve. To end fast fashion, allow new designers the opportunity to bring new ideas into the industry. I think the fashion industry is too comfortable in its trends that it can be closed minded on the new talent coming from graduates in this generation."


The lockdown gave Kat a lot of time to think about her future career. She became more open minded. Kat wants to keep Katch Design going. It is something she is working on at the moment but she is also looking for other opportunities and careers within the fashion industry.


"I have got so much to learn and I am excited to start this new journey."

bottom of page