top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

Elements of Nature



Helge Hauptmann creates minimalistic jewellery collections with recycled gold, 925 sterling silver and synthetic eco diamonds.


“They say good design is when you cannot take anything away and I would say the same about my jewellery. I am drawn to timeless designs and minimal lines.”


From a young age, Helge was fascinated by women who wore rings, necklaces and bracelets and how well everything fitted together. “At some point, I started to design my first pieces of jewellery and noticed how much joy it gave me. It became obvious quite quickly that I want to do this all my life.”


Helge worked for leading jewellery companies and later created her label Maren Jewellery where she implements all the knowledge and sustainability.


“I think jewellery designers, just like anyone else who produces or designs something, have a responsibility towards nature and people.” Helge believes it is her duty to create pieces that can accompany her customers for a lifetime.


While designing timeless pieces, sustainability forces Helge to be precise. “I have to be completely aware of what I want to say and how I want to express it.”


Sustainability reminds the designer about the state of nature, but she also thinks it is more complex. “After all, sustainability does not end with the materials, but is also a question of design.”


Maren Jewellery collections are inspired by nature. “I once heard that a good artist can only tell what she knows, and I see it the same way. I am inspired by how magically the flower buds open every spring. How the clouds stand over the field in winter, the branches of the trees against the sky.”


Helge is also intrigued by old pieces. The inherited piece of jewellery from her grandma inspired her to create ReMind collection. ReMind collection is special for the designer, it is a reminder of love, a personal feeling Helge tried to express in unique pieces which individuals can always carry with them.


Helge begins her work with sketches followed by the technical drawings which creates a clearer picture of the design. “It is always a rather magical time, working on first ideas, creating mood boards. That is when I always remember why I love what I do so much. Creating something which mirrors what I believe in is the greatest feeling of all.”


Everyone can talk about sustainability, however, not many brands can prove it. The designer is currently working on her AW21 collection as well as creating the sustainable impact report which will be released later this year.


“We have worked very hard to ensure that Maren Jewellery is a holistic sustainable company and now I am putting together the numbers to prove it. My customers can be sure we are keeping our word and that is something I am very proud of.”



bottom of page