top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

​Sushchenko Fashion Label  ​



Natasha Sushchenko is a founder of Sushchenko fashion label, co-owner of Kvartira 49 store and member of Icelandic indie duo - Pale Moon.

Natasha was raised in a small Siberian town. She began her career by studying graphic design in Moscow but soon realised that it is not something she wanted to do. Natasha was always interested in clothes. Her mother was a creative dressmaker and Natasha looked up for her from a young age.

"I’ve ended up applying for scholarships in Fashion. It was a great turn of events as I've moved abroad and got to explore Europe while I was studying at IED Barcelona."

Fashion degree was a huge challenge for Natasha. "It wasn’t so easy and carefree as you imagine but it was very satisfying to graduate."

During her degree, Natasha realised that print design is one of her strengths. "I am quite savvy with computers and dabbled in illustration, 3D modeling and a bit of coding. I had the advantage of working with the digital side of things."

Natasha’s collections include prints and a variety of techniques and materials. "I often challenge myself with new fabrics or styles. My love for colours, abstract art and 70s is influencing my designs. I love corduroy, velvet and teal tones and you’ll find plenty of that in my last collection."


When starting a new collection Natasha follows her instincts. “I make hundreds of pencil sketches just to see where my mind is going and afterwards I start seeing a common thread that dictates the rest of my choices".

Sushchenko is an indie brand which means a designer has a lot of freedom while creating her new collections. Indie is also an independent style which characterize by less commercial products. In the online store, there are a selection of streetwear, jewellery, shoes and magazines.

As part of her business, Natasha decided to open brick and mortar in Reykjavik 2 years ago. It was successful as the designer sold her first collection along with other Russian and Ukrainian brands they’ve brought to Iceland.

"I feel that each season I am growing and making better clothes. When you start it takes a while to get to a quality you want. I produce everything in Ukraine, I am proud of what comes out and happy to support Ukrainian production."

At the moment, the designer is also a co-owner of Kvartira 49 store where they sell streetwear trends for Icelanders. Kvartira means apartment in Russian. Natasha wanted to create a store which reminds of the living room in the friend’s apartment.

While working in the store Natasha often sees customers who expect new products every month. Natasha believes that clothes lost its value with overproduction. "I don’t think that €30 dress is fair. If you ever try to sew a dress, you will realize the amount of work it comes with."

In order to sell new collections, a lot of garments have to go on sale. Natasha believes that it becomes increasingly hard to run a retail. "For me, it’s questionable why clothes lose 60% of its value after 3 months on a rack."

At the moment Natasha finished her 5th collection which will be presented online via Mercedes Benz Fashion Week Russia and Global Talents on the 11th of June. 50 designers from 20 different countries will represent their work at the digital event.

The designer is also working on her album and hopes to play at some gigs this summer where she will showcase new looks.


bottom of page