top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

Poppy Howell Design: Handmade Jewellery & Accessories


Twenty-two-year-old Poppy Howell creates whimsical jewellery and accessories. Poppy studied fashion at the University of Lincoln where she has refined various techniques. The designer likes to play with colours, shapes and fastenings.


After graduation last year, Poppy decided to try and make something different, so she has researched about the resin earrings. The fashion trend on the huge, bright resin earrings came at the 60s. Nowadays, designers adjust the retro trend to the minimalistic design which makes it wearable daily.


After creating a pair of earrings Poppy was satisfied with the result and the idea about her own accessory brand, Poppy Howell Design, came to mind.


“When I’ve started my brand I decided to focus on jewellery for a few reasons. Mainly that I only do this part-time and for a while I was often travelling about so didn’t always have access to the space and equipment to be sewing.”


“Starting with jewellery also meant I can gain experience of selling online, promoting my own products and working with customers, while not having to invest too much money initially”, adds Poppy.


Recently Poppy started to sew again, the designer created her own website where she sells not only resin and beaded jewellery but handmade bags.


While developing new products Poppy follows the trends but also listens to the customers and tries to have her own design aesthetics.


“I hope my pieces can be worn for a long time. All my jewellery and accessories are very universal, so can be worn by anyone!”

The designer constantly wants to improve her business. Poppy has worked towards recyclable and sustainable packaging, from the cardboard boxes, to biodegradable tape and bubble wrap.


Poppy always had an interest in sustainable issues such as plastic waste in the ocean, water usage within the fashion industry and desertification. “I try to minimise waste, and my pieces are either one offs, so the customer knows they are getting something unique and special, or are made to order. I have no wasted stock.”


While creating the bags Poppy started to use deadstock fabrics or the ones she already owns which otherwise would be thrown away. Poppy is not planning to stop on this and already sourcing vintage and secondhand materials for the new collection. The designer believes that everyone should start with small steps.


“Fast fashion is exploitative of people and the planet. Knowing who made your clothes, where and how is important, and this transparency you don’t get with fast fashion.”


In the future Poppy wants to create clothes as well as jewellery. She spent 10 weeks at the University of Lincoln making scrubs for the NHS as part of a small team during the lockdown.


“Being back in the studio and sewing again gave me the confidence to start making my own clothes. It was hard sourcing some materials as I could only order online. Materials from abroad took a month to arrive. It forced me to focus on buying within the UK which I think is a good thing.”


Poppy already had work experience in costume at Hull Truck Theatre and completed a short course at Central Saint Martins in Sustainable Fashion.


One of the challenges Poppy faced while looking for work experiences is unpaid internships. “After graduation, I struggled to find a job in the fashion industry. I was interviewed and offered a couple of internships in London but these were unpaid which were impossible for me.”


Most graduate fashion jobs want 1-2 years experience. It is difficult to achieve, considering the prices for the short term accommodations and living cost in some cities.


“This is making the fashion industry very exclusionary, especially for people who are not able to be financially supported to this extent.”


The designer is about to start the MA in Textiles Design Innovation at Nottingham Trent University in September. Poppy believes it will give her an opportunity to develop her brand, skills and textile techniques.


“I never considered having my own brand before I started making jewellery. I have really enjoyed the creative process and seeing the results myself.”


Poppy is inspired by other small independent brands from all around the country and hopes that she can continue creating something she likes whilst also being sustainable.

bottom of page