top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

​Dreamland Sport: Sportswear Brand by Roisin-Eilish Harkin​


Photo Credit: George Harris Photography


Roisin-Eilish Harkin is a fashion graduate at the Birmingham City University. From a young age Roisin-Eilish was an Irish dancer. She remembers being curious about the clothes which her teachers and adjudicators were wearing. The time went by and now Roisin-Eilish creates sportswear garments for her own clothing brand - Dreamland Sport.

The textile classes became an escape for Roisin-Eilish at school. It was designers favourite time as she felt free from the stress of other subjects she has struggled with at the time.

Roisin-Eilish describes her designs as an "unorthodox, playful and colourful."


The designer finds inspiration in sportswear and streetwear culture. "I like to design what feels natural from what I have taken from my concept research. However, I also love looking at the key muses for style inspirations and current trends those muses are following."

In her graduate collection Roisin-Eilish combined layer style tops and bomber jackets with ball gown skirts. The designer used sports based materials such as breathable waterproofs, lycra’s, jerseys, rib knits and sports mesh.

"I do a lot of hand drawn and cad enhanced print work. I love playing with the scales of prints before printing on to the fabric and creating logo graphics which involve hand drawings, Illustrator and Photoshop."

Roisin-Eilish has her own brand – Dreamland Sport. It was created 6 years ago while she was studying fashion at college. "Whilst remaining true to the playful use of colour and branding in ‘Dream within a dream’– collection, I have also looked to three key muses – Hailey Bieber, Emily Davies and Princess Diana. Taking inspiration from the product types they wear, how they style them and their lifestyles - I have incorporated this into a small business idea."

The designer developed four key silhouettes – hoodies, sweatshirts, sweatpants and sweat shorts. These designs are made from a heavy weighed jersey knit materials with direct to garment printing and embroidery.

Roisin-Eilish also found it hard to put her brand on the market. The freelance fashion designer and product developer Erica Horne was the person who helped Roisin-Eilish to develop the confidence in running her own business.

"It’s been a lot of years experimenting with different products. It’s never and still isn’t coming to me quickly but I am enjoying the process. I learn and develop skills I never thought I would, simply because I can’t afford to pay someone to do things for me."



The designer believes that waste is a huge problem within the fashion industry. This is the reason why Roisin-Eilish wanted to run a small business with the limited amounts of garments.


"I’ve realised how important it is as a business to create a quality product that’s last and stays in style for more than just a season and encourage the consumers to re-wear and re-purpose their garments for years to come."

For the designer, the streetwear brands are more than just a t-shirt. "It comes with community, friendship and values which is something for people to become part of and relate to. I want to bring joy and happiness for my customers but remain conscious and continue to educate myself in making better decisions in regards to the absurd amount of waste within the industry."

Roisin-Eilish is also wearing vintage, second hand or clothes from the small independent businesses. "I want to embody what my brand stands for and do what I can as a one women business."

Roisin-Eilish took a different approach while she was studying at university. Instead of looking for work experiences, designer wanted to focus on her studies and university facilities.


"We've had many opportunities to collaborate with other designers but this wasn’t something I found myself doing. I wanted to learn and gain as many skills as possible while being at university."

This year the designer was nominated for two awards at the Graduate Fashion Week. "For sports and leisure wear nomination I’ve put forward my final major collection. However, for the footwear it was an entirely new project which I’ve enjoyed doing and would like to develop further."

The results are yet to take place but Roisin-Eilish already feels like a winner. It sparked her interest in footwear and the process behind it.

Three looks from the designers collection were also showcased at the Internal Preview Show at the Birmingham City University. "I was lucky to have been selected out of 60 collections to showcase my work along with 20 other student."


The Graduate Fashion Show was meant to be another opportunity to showcase the designers collection but due to COVID-19 it was cancelled. Roisin-Eilish believes that everything happens for a reason.


"This was extremely upsetting but it made me challenge into the business idea and push to get it out way sooner than I’ve expected."

Roisin-Eilish recently started a job as a creative technician at the fashion college. As well as getting used to her new role, the designer wants to continue developing her brand as she knows it is only the beginning of her career.

bottom of page