top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

​All About Romance: Graduate Collection by Ruby Harry​


Photo Credit: Mark Harry


Ruby Harry is a fashion design graduate at Cardiff Metropolitan University. After graduation Ruby decided to move forward and develop her own brand where she aims to sell sustainable clothing for fashion conscious women.

Ruby’s family have always been art orientated. While choosing her GCSE’S the textile option came up. After discussing the possibilities with her teacher Ruby made a decision to challenge herself.


"I was so excited by the idea that I could create my own trends and styles. I have loved fashion from a young age, so it was a no brainer for me to start the course."

When the time came to think about the future path, Ruby chose to develop her knowledge and study Fashion and Textile degree at the Filton College in Bristol. "It was an amazing course which made me motivated to further my learning with a degree."

Ruby’s designs are feminine and some would describe them as girly. "It’s what I am naturally drawn to, anything with pearls, feathers is for me! I also love textiles and always try to embed this in my designs."

Ruby’s graduate collection, All About Romance, was inspired by her trip to Rome. During the design process, Ruby developed her ideas after researching about Roman History and Roman Goddess Flora who represents femininity and natural beauty.


"In 200bc the Roman people would hold flower festivals in her honour. They believed that if they worshiped Flora, she would bring them a healthy environment and crops. I found this to be very influential nowadays. We find ourselves honouring the same foundations of life, for us to have a healthy environment."

Ruby looks at trends but only follows them if she feels they represent her as a designer. "Most of the time I try to do my own thing and because of my love for textiles I let that lead the way into the direction of my designs."

The designer used the foiling technique for her graduate collection. This is a process of applying foiling glue to the material and placing foiling sheets on top while using the press heat. "A lot of the time you would apply the glue through a screen, but I had been donated flower fabric so I hand-painted all the flowers and leaves on the print."


Ruby loves changing fabrics to make it look more unique and feminine. Although it was time-consuming, the designer was proud of her final result.

Ruby feels strongly about sustainability. "This is what really drove me to start my own sustainable fashion brand, to fight against fast fashion."


The designer remembers buying clothes from fast fashion brands on a regular basis. "It’s an addiction, especially if you are into fashion. However, my new goal is to have a whole wardrobe made by myself."

"I create my garments from scrap fabric that people would throw away otherwise. I also buy materials like curtains from charity shops. My past two collections I have turned curtains into garments, and you would never know unless you were told", says Ruby.

Unfortunately, designers still produce high numbers of waste. "I really don’t feel that certain brands will change their ways due to the amount of money they are making."


The changes can be made if not only brands but consumers can start purchasing their clothes wisely. "I feel that new sustainable brands will make sustainability popular and hopefully customers can realise that investing in the long term buys will be better and more affordable in the long run."

Ruby also believes that the fashion industry is not diverse enough. "There needs to be more culture, race, gender and people with disabilities on websites, fashion shows, promotional photoshoots and more. A clothes needs to be appealing for everyone. The fashion industry still has a long way to come."

Ruby already have done a few work experiences including Superdry, TU Sainsbury’s, London Fashion Week, SKINS and most recently Peacocks.

"Peacocks for me was a massive achievement as I was able to complete two work experience placement, which then lead to them offering me an internship." Ruby freelanced for the company every Wednesday while she was in her final year at university.

The designer also took part in the ‘PCA Vision 2020 Workwear’ competition recently. Ruby had to design a uniform for any type of jobs. Her collection was based around her brother who is a helicopter pilot. "I was successful to be awarded a place in the international top ten, where the final is being held next year. I am very excited!"

Ruby has various opportunities ahead of her. At the moment the designer wants to focus on her brand where she can change fashion lover’s minds on sustainability.

bottom of page