top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

Ritika Sachdeva: Fashion Stylist & Filmmaker



Ritika Sachdeva is a final year fashion design student from Mumbai. For the past year she was working as a freelance stylist and celebrity fashion assistant in India, collaborated with various brands and created fashion films.

Ritika knew she wanted to learn more about fashion from a young age. "I would definitely credit my mother for it. She was always hell-bent on following trends, dressing me up, making me aware of what goes with what and let me read magazines. I remember cutting pieces of really nice clothing items from the magazines and keeping them so I could draw them later."


Ritika developed her interest in art at school. "My mother made me join an art class where the teacher taught me how to draw croquis. However, later on in 11th grade I've realized that I am more interested in styling and creative direction."


After school, Ritika went to college which is best known for the film industry in India. During her time there Ritika developed the knowledge on the film production and decided to challenge herself by creating fashion films.

The process behind the fashion film is the same as any other genre. Ritika believes that her approach has only gotten better after each film. It takes time to develop your style and find the routine which will work for every individual.


While working on the film, Ritika starts by writing down ideas. There is no dialogues in Ritika's films as she doesn't usually works with a script. To develop her idea she writes an action/shot breakdown and then begins to collect references for the shots, vibe, mood, colours, lighting and costume.

After it’s finalised, Ritika moves into deciding on costumes for every scene or mood. As a director, Ritika says that she likes to interact with her actors or models, “so that when we are on set they understand what I want them to do”. She explains the idea to them and the emotion behind the film.

“I meet director of photography, editor, actors several times during the pre-production. A lot of things are going into making a film but it is always exciting to see your vision becoming a reality”, says Ritika.

Out of Grace and No Walls are two fashion films Ritika is especially proud of. No Walls is the closest to my heart because it was written when I was in a very dark place.”


At the age of 17 Ritika wrote her first blog. While working on it she has realised that thinking about concepts, putting certain moods together and creating stories is a great way to express yourself.


"When it comes to films or styling as a whole, my main focus is to be able to tell a story visually without being too heavy on the narrative. If I’m able to make my viewer feel something, I consider my job successful!"

Ritika believes that she can never know enough about fashion styling. It’s important to develop knowledge throughout the career. Ritika shared some of her tips with On-Trend:


  • Always have a story to tell.

  • Make sure you’re on your toes when a project comes because your team stays on theirs if you are.

  • Planning everything beforehand is the key, you don’t want to be running for things when you’re in the dressing room with your model.

  • Try connecting with your actor/model on an emotional level so that the concept you have in your mind for them comes out the best way possible.

  • Have a good sense of creative direction and learn as much as you can about lighting and colours.

The process behind her work inspires Ritika. “Let's say I do a certain project that turns out super good. I start believing more in myself and try my best to achieve something even better next time.”

Although not everything can go to plan while working on the new projects, Ritika never gives up. “I’ve accepted the fact that you can’t just ace everything. There is going to be a lot of seatbacks so just trust the process and give your 100% to whatever you do.”


COVID-19 influenced Ritika but it never stopped her from finding positive aspects in the whole situation.

“The isolation was really affecting my mental health like everyone else and I honestly can’t be without working on something.” Ritika came up with an idea to take virtual shots. She wanted to include different cultures and interact with people from around the world. She started by contacting various people and it turned out as the best experience in her life.

“When I saw first shoots I was shocked to know the possibilities of the internet and its ability to connect us with people miles away.”


Ritika been working as a fashion stylist and assistant for a long time now. “I intend to continue doing the same but I also want to grow as a director more than anything else. I want to write more fashion films and experience different genres.”

bottom of page