top of page
  • Elina Kobzar

Jacqueline Bissett: Live Fashion Artist & Illustrator



Jacqueline Bissett is an international fashion illustrator with over 30-years of experience in the industry. Jacqueline collaborated with the countless amounts of top couture houses such as Louis Vuitton, Tommy Hilfiger, Giorgio Armani, Givenchy and top jewellery brands - Cartier, Bulgari, Van Cleef & Arpels.

The fashion illustrator grew up in Bromsgrove, England. Jacqueline was only 7 years old when she started to draw figures from her favourite fairy tale book - Ladybird. "I used to draw pages of outfits and different designs. I would sit on the floor and do that for hours."

Jacqueline knew nothing about the fashion illustrations until she graduated from Epsom School of Art with a 2 year HND in Fashion, Promotion and Communications. "I learned that fashion illustration was about explaining and promoting fashion in all areas – at the initial design, ‘in-store promotions’ such as posters and ‘point of display’ cards and now on websites. The website came later as we had no internet in the mid-80s’. "

Not only technologies but trends are changing drastically. For the past few years, it's been all about realism in pencil. However, Jacqueline says that: "it is breaking away from that and getting a little more quirky and artistic."

"The history of fashion is an interest for me and I have many books on fashion designers and illustrators from over the years. I don’t think it’s necessary to have this knowledge but it helps with some commissions. I think current and upcoming trends are much more important to keep your eye on – the sooner you can jump on these, the better", adds Jacqueline.

Following college graduation, Jacqueline worked for most of the UK fashion magazines. Moreover, she commissioned her work in Italy, France, Australia, USA, Greece and Japan. After joining illustration ltd, the worlds most established illustration agency, Jacqueline’s work can be found on everything from book covers, billboard advertisement, signage in stores to scarves, bags and kitchenware.

Jacqueline is known for her live illustrations. "I've collaborated with many designers over the years. I’ll go to their stores all over the country and sometimes overseas and draw clients as part of a promotion/campaign. Tommy Hilfiger was different as I drew a lot of figures, working with their designers for presentation."


One of the projects which particularly stand out to Jacqueline is when she worked with award-winning costume designer Joanna Johnston on the film 'Allied'. "I drew all of Joanna’s designs which she described to me and showed me samples of some garments. She wanted them drawn to keep with the 1940s era and with a nod to the actors."

In her work Jacqueline always tries to use different media but her favourites are watercolours and black acrylic ink. She also likes to collage and sketch in charcoal.

"I use a large 1.5-inch oriental brush so it can look like oriental calligraphy lines. I like to be quite fluid in my approach with line but I vary the colour application. I either use flat blocks of colours or loose painterly, dropping paint onto wet paper and watching it bleed. I also love to flick the paint to create spatters."

Almost five years ago Jacqueline bought an iPad Pro for an event in Paris and recently purchased a portable printer. These are useful tools for live events as Jacquiline can give her work a different look and print out the drawing on the spot. However, she admits that "it will never be as satisfying as throwing the paint around the paper."

The industry is changing every year. One of the biggest challenges in the market is that it is flooded with fashion illustrators and there’s not enough work. Jacqueline believes that the present situation can benefit fashion illustrators as photoshoots will be difficult to arrange for a while.

During the lockdown, Jacqueline started to do online live drawing classes. “It’s given me a whole new spark of creativity and has made me realise that I have to do 1-2 classes a week rather than once a month that I’ve used to do”.

The steps Jacqueline follows while creating her work also have changed. While working on commercial projects she used to do a rough pencil sketch then use a light pad, apply a new piece of paper over the pencil and do a finished piece. "This lockdown I’ve done less of that and painted straight onto the paper. I am using an ‘underwash’ first, then painting more focused lines on top. I am feeling much more creative this way and I am loosening my style."

For anyone who wants to start with fashion illustrations, Jacqueline suggests to study this at University as it provides a discipline, connections and commercial projects to work on. She also adds: "Draw every day, keep a sketchbook, try lots of different mediums before you find your style – have fun with it!"

At the moment Jacqueline works on selling her prints from the live classes. She also mentioned that there may be a range of t-shirts coming out soon. "I’m in discussion with a boutique but it’s in the very early stage."

bottom of page